Phil Mickelson picks up another weird penalty

Phil Mickelson at A Military Tribute at the Greenbrier

Phil Mickelson at A Military Tribute at the Greenbrier

At the seventh tee at A Military Tribute at The Greenbrier, Mickelson stamped down on some grass in front of him, which after a moment he realized would cost him a two-stroke penalty that he assessed to himself.

Phil Mickelson, criticised after he absorbed a two-shot penalty for an intentional rules violation at the US Open, was on the wrong side of golf's rules again at the Greenbrier Classic on Sunday. He flagged down a rules official coming down the fairway, who then sought clarification and later reported back to Mickelson that it was a two-stroke penalty for a violation of Rule 13-2, which covers improving line of play. Had he not stamped out that grass, Mickelson would've won nearly $2,000 more for his play over the weekend.

Mickelson shot 74 on Sunday to finish 1-under 279 for the tournament, which was won by Kevin Na.

Phil Mickelson had another rules violation this weekend at A Military Tribute at The Greenbrier, but it was far from the controversial ruckus he caused at the U.S. Open earlier this year.

Gareth Southgate: 'I couldn't listen to Three Lions for 20 years'
With 60 minutes of extra time and two penalty-kick shootouts, it's as if Croatia has played an entire extra match. He said: "We are really proud of the support we have received".


"I just had a few bonehead moves today", Mickelson said.

Mickelson will now fly to Europe before playing a Monday practice round at Ryder Cup host Le Golf National outside Paris, followed by rounds at Gullane on Tuesday and Carnoustie on Wednesday prior to the start of the Scottish Open.

Looking a bit flustered, Mickleson could be heard saying: "Is what I just did legal?" "I've got to get my short game a little sharper".

Latest News