Scherzer finishes second to deGrom for Cy Young Award

Jacob de Grom and Felix Hernandez

Modal Trigger Jacob de Grom and Felix Hernandez Paul J. Bereswill Reuters

Snell, 25, won a major league-best 21 games with only five losses and posted an AL-best 1.89 ERA with 221 strikeouts and 64 walks in 180 2/3 innings.

The Mets' righty was expected to win, and he won in a landslide by taking 29 out of 30 available first-place votes.

Jacob deGrom was named as the victor of the 2018 NL Cy Young award for his outstanding performances on the mound this season.

The Mets, who watched the knuckleballer Dickey win the award in 2012, joined the Diamondbacks (Randy Johnson and Brandon Webb) and Dodgers (Eric Gagne and Clayton Kershaw) as the only NL teams this century with two different Cy Young winners. The victim of precious little run support from his Mets teammates all season, deGrom finished with a pedestrian 10-9 record, by far the lowest win total ever for a Cy Young Award-winning starting pitcher.

Menthol cigarettes ban: BTA and Imperial shares plunge amid crackdown
None of the major tobacco companies would comment on the possibility of barring menthol cigarettes at this early stage. The FDA may impose limits on the sale of most e-cigarette products in the US , the Washington Post reported last week.

Earlier tonight, Major League Baseball and the BBWAA announced Rays southpaw Blake Snell is the 2018 AL Cy Young award victor. Scherzer got the other first-place vote. The No. 52 overall pick by Tampa Bay back in 2011, Snell solidified himself as an MLB-caliber starter last season with 24 starts of 4.04 ERA ball, but he overpowered opponents in 2018, pitching to a 1.89 ERA with 11.0 K/9 against 3.2 BB/9 in 31 starts. He becomes the second Cy Young victor in Rays history, joining David Price (2012). Mark Didtler, an AP freelancer, had Verlander third while Bill Madden of the New York Daily News had Verlander in fourth place behind Blake Treinen.

Scherzer also has a chance of finishing in the top 10 in NL MVP voting for the third straight year, with results set to be announced Thursday evening.

DeGrom finished 10-9 with a major league-best 1.70 ERA and 269 strikeouts in 217 innings.

DeGrom had previously finished seventh in the Cy Young voting in 2015 and eighth in 2017. He got the first-place vote of John Maffei of the San Diego Union-Tribune, 29 seconds and 123 points. Other Cy Young winners from the Mets include Dwight Gooden (1985), and Tom Seaver (1969, '73, '75). Aaron Nola of the Philadelphia Phillies was third with 86 points, followed by Colorado's Kyle Freeland and Arizona's Patrick Corbin.

Latest News